Velkommen til København!

August 22, 2011 § 1 Comment

takeoff :: photograph taken from the plane as we left Frankfurt headed for Copenhagen

I arrived!  In one piece? yes. With all my luggage? no.  (Thankfully my large suitcase was just half a day behind me and was swiftly returned back to me.)

Its only been two whole days yet I feel as though I have been here at least a week.

I am slowly getting over jet lag and we already have a full schedule.  Today was full of orientation, scavenger hunts around historic Copenhagen and plenty of information about the Danes, Danish culture and the Danish language!

Memories thus far:

-minutes before boarding my flight to Frankfurt I ran into five Cal Poly friends headed off to for a year long mission in East Asia.  Surprise!

-people watching.  Europeans are so interesting- the way the dress, talk and their mannerisms.  I sat for over an hour at the Frankfurt airport and simply ‘people watched’

-bought a nothing-special hotdog and small coke at the train station for 50dkk, equivalent to about $10…for a hotdog!!!  these prices are going to take some time to get used to.

-trying to pronounce Danish words somewhat correctly.  Its frustrating when I try to ask for directions and I can’t even say the place I am trying to go to!

-biking in circles for 45 minutes in downtown Copenhagen before finally asking for directions.  Thankfully everyone speaks English!

…plenty more adventures to come.  Bring it on Copenhagen!

§ One Response to Velkommen til København!

  • Craig says:

    Fun to read! Thanks for sharing. I hope you get a chance to eat in Værnedamsey — and tell us about it. 🙂 XOXO!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Velkommen til København! at Watercolor Wednesday.

meta

