thankful.

February 6, 2012 § 1 Comment

I sit in studio researching contemporary Nordic architecture for my newest studio project.  I admit it, I am a bookworm.  I love the library. Checking out new books is way more exciting to me than it should be.

As I scan the books I have checked out relating to Nordic dwelling architecture (there are currently six such books open on my desk– nerd alert!) and I realize how thankful I am for the experience to be here in Copenhagen.

As I jump from book to book, examples of important Scandinavian architecture sprinkle the pages.
…Alvar Aalto’s Technical College in Otaniemi,
Lewerenz’s Björkhagen Church in Stockholm,
Jørn Utzon’s Kingo Houses in Helsingør…

I am astounded that about half of the examples I read about I have visited.  I have lived in Denmark for a mere five months, yet I have experienced so much.  The opportunity to study and live in a foreign country is an amazing experience in itself.  But the opportunity to travel and experience so many influential designs in my backyard is unbelievable.

And I still have another 4 months?!?

I am so

thankful.

§ One Response to thankful.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading thankful. at Watercolor Wednesday.

meta

