friday.

April 20, 2012 § Leave a comment

I stare into my BoConcept handle-less coffee mug where I see the remains of my latest espresso indulgence.  A frothy blanket of espresso and cream covers the surviving liquid below.  I love the look of the foam; it looks more like art than the fat from my mocha.

The napkin in front of me contains the remains of my mysterious scone-biscuit goodness.  From the top the bun looked like a heavily seeded roll.  Once I bit into the interior, I discovered a jam-filled dense scone.  Fallen pumpkin seeds are still scattered on the plate awaiting their impending consumption.

Four others join me in this quaint coffee shop.  Two friends catching up enjoying their similarly seeded scones and gossiping about the latest break-up among their high school friends.  A lone middle-age woman sporting her hipster RayBan glasses, sipping her handle-less cappuccino gazes at the newspaper before her.  The lone barista floats back and forth from the counter to the supply room trying to keep herself occupied while her four customers carry on their business.

And here I sit, continuing to pound on my black keys, trying to contain this scene into my memory. The reality that this is soon coming to an end is starting to hit me.

Today marks the eight-month anniversary of my arrival in Denmark and the one-month countdown to my return to the States.

I sit in the Coffee Room, one of my favorite cafés in central Copenhagen and pound away at my laptop.  The shop is nothing special, a small interior with only eight tables, a few chairs and industrial lamps hanging from the high ceiling.  I don’t know what it is that always draws me to this place but I feel so at home here.

What has seemed a typical Friday for so long– go to class for three hours in the morning, take a stroll down Strøget, find a café and treat myself to a coffee, catch up on the cyber-world for awhile, then join my classmates for our Friday afternoon studio will soon no longer be the norm.

My Fridays traditions will end.  My now-familiar surroundings will disappear.  My complete independence will diminish.  My lifestyle will change.

The finish line is coming into view.

My feelings on this are so mixed.  I can’t wait to give a giant hug to those I haven’t seen in over nine months but I also can’t bear to leave this amazing place that has become home.

So for now, I enjoy what is in front of me

coffee, a scone, and Copenhagen.

Happy Friday.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading friday. at Watercolor Wednesday.

meta

