The Last

May 19, 2012 § 5 Comments

The last time I jog in Fælledparken.

The last time I work late in studio.

The last time I purchase a 35dkk (≈$6) latte.

The last time I miss a Copenhagen S-train.

The last time I bike like a fiend to school.

The last time I socialize at the pub after church with friends Vineyard København Kirke.

The last time I savor chai with friends on the lakes.

The last time I enjoy a Carlsberg and picnic in the park.

The last time I attempt to order my coffee in (extremely) poor Danish.

The last time I dumpster dive with fellow poor students for rejected pastry and bread items.

The last time I walk into a building constructed in the 16th century.

The last time I indulge in a Danish chocolate snegle (pastry).

The last time I float through Illum Bolinghus and admiring all the overpriced Danish Designs I can never afford.

The last time I take tourist photos of Copenhagen even though I have lived here for almost a year.

The last time I share a candle-lit meal with so many great people.

The last time I window-shop down Strøget.

The last time I attempt to fit into Danish society by sporting all black, an oversized scarf, a high bun, aviators and my bike.

The last time I give someone a blank stare and soft “sorry?” when they speak to me in Danish.

The last time I wake up in my bed in my cozy apartment.

The last blog post…just kidding!  I am not ready to let go.  I still have a couple more posts to share with you!



This week has been a plethora of ‘lasts’ as I say goodbye to people, places and experiences that have become part of this blessed adventure.  In less than 10 hours I will board a plane that will take me away from this city that claims a large part of my heart and bring me back to the Motherland that feels more foreign than home. My bags are packed (everything fit! I am not sure who is more surprised– me or my dad), my room is clean, my boarding pass is printed and now it is just time to wait.

And even with all these ‘lasts’ I still do not feel like its the end.  Even as I say goodbye to so many people and places, it does not feel real.

I feel like I will see the same people tomorrow, just like I have every other week.  I feel like my bike is outside waiting for me to go exploring, like I have so many other weekends.  I feel like I will be back at my favorite coffee shop, like I am every Sunday.  I do not know when ‘the last’ will become a reality, but I will keep you updated when the tornado of tears appears.

Here are some snapshots of this week’s ‘lasts’….

Last Bible Study.  I will miss all these beautiful ladies!

Last time strolling down Strøget.  Thankfully it was beautifully sunny day in Amagertorv!

Last coffee date with this lovely one!  I plan on seeing this fellow west-coaster soon again!

Last chocolade bolle from Sankt Peders Bageri.

Last time witnessing old buildings and straw thatched roofs.  Day trip to Roskilde.

Last time in Tivoli.  I gave Copenhagen a proper goodbye from the high-heights of the swings above!

Last time with good friends in Copenhagen…not forever though! I will see you again!

These past nine months have been absolutely life changing and I plan on taking the next lifetime and a half to unpack all that I have experienced and learned.  This chapter might be coming to a close, yet the next has already started to write itself.  The future holds reunions with loved ones, an internship in the mountains of Lake Tahoe, my final year of college and oh, so much more!

“For I know the plans I have for you” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and  not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.” Jeremiah 29:11

But for now…

 Vi ses København! Farvel for nu!  Jeg vil savne dig, men jeg vil se dig igen!

§ 5 Responses to The Last

  • I know what you mean…last moments feel so surreal..like its not really happening or not the end..They only hit later on…Hope you have a safe flight. Its been fun reading your journey! Remember…its still continuing…and each step brings us nearer to discovering who we really are.

    God bless 🙂

  • megalagom says:

    Beautiful farewell! Sometimes the best way to experience is knowing it will one day come to an end.

  • knotrune says:

    This made me feel melancholy recalling the end of my 6 months in Oslo. You’ll always have the memories to treasure, but it’s never the same. Good that you have other things to look forward to 🙂

  • elizabethweaver says:

    What a truly wonderful experience. Thank you for sharing it with your lovely photos and text. May your heart be filled with the love you step away from and back to.

  • rangewriter says:

    I suspect a bunch of those lasts will be only temporary lasts until you return.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Last at Watercolor Wednesday.

meta

