sloHOME

June 2, 2012 § 2 Comments

A melody of birds chirping adds to the tunes filling my headphones.

The music of choice? Danish top hits naturally.

Even though I have been back in the States for almost two weeks, I still have yet to change my Spotify music account from Denmark to the US, allowing me to access all of Denmark’s top hits.

I am still not ready to let go.

I sit at Linnea’s Café in San Luis Obispo (SLO).  Linnea’s is my favorite café in San Luis Obispo; which is quite a compliment because SLO is filled with a plethora of cozy and welcoming cafés.

Although quite popular in SLO, I still feel like Linnea’s is a hidden gem.  The back patio is filled with a dozen colorfully clothed tables surrounded by walls of crumbling brick and vibrant climbing ivy.  The entire atmosphere feels like one of H.C. Andersen’s fairy tales.

By routine, I feel like I am still in Copenhagen.  I biked to the café just like I would in Copenhagen.  Upon entry the delicious smells of the soup of the day, Lentil Miso, filled my nose (lentil soup just happened to be a staple in my limited Copenhagen cooking repetoir).   My usual mocha sits in front of me making that familiar foamy design that oddly inspires me.  And I am still banging away on these black keys blogging away. If the California sun wasn’t streaming down tanning (…burning) my (extremely white) shoulders, I would think I was still in Copenhagen.

And coincidence has it that as I sit here and remenice of my past life in Copenhagen, I run into three fellow classmates from Copenhagen.  We all had the same idea: fly home to States, give mom and dad a hug and immediately drive to SLO for the week.  It is surreal to see these familiar faces in SLO after spending nine months with them in a magical place far, far away.

Homecoming has been so bittersweet.  Missing my life in Copenhagen has been bitter, yet reunions have been so sweet.  I did not realize how much I missed people until I was reunited with them!  Late night baking sessions, lazy days at the beach, farmers market and more catch-up coffee dates to satisfy any caffeine addict have made up this blessed week.

Bitter or sweet, there is one thing stays the same: “The Lord is my Rock, my fortress and my deliver” Psalm 18: 2.

I am so blessed.  I was blessed by an amazing adventure for the last year.  And I am blessed by life in California, wonderful friends and such a loving family.

I just pinched myself.

I felt it.

Well, I guess this is not a dream.

“You have made known to me the path of life; you will fill me with your joy in your presence, with eternal pleasures at your right hand” Psalm 16:11

Linnea’s Cafe back patio, San Luis Obispo

§ 2 Responses to sloHOME

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading sloHOME at Watercolor Wednesday.

meta

